top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureebeckreck

Hyper fixations and me!

Hello Humans,


Today I want to share my hyper fixations with you, as it is Autism Acceptance Week with Autism Acceptance Day being the 2nd April!


But first, what is a hyper fixation? Well the Google definition is this:


Essentially it's being completely immersed in something — whether it be a video game, movie/TV fandom culture or a hobby like crocheting. While typically associated with ADHD and autism, people with mental illness may also experience hyperfixation.


And as someone with autism I can definitely say I have had my fair share of hyper fixations, and for me they’ve been something which I have found comfort in completely.


One of the earliest ones I remember was the Suffragette Movement. I believe I was about 9/10 and was an avid reader, often finishing a book everyday. I think it started when I chose a non-fiction book about the Suffragettes and from that moment, everything I read was about the movement, either fiction or non fiction. I asked for clothes in the colours representing the movement: purple, white and green. This was really the start of my love for history which has developed over time so much so that I want to study history at university!


Fast forward to probably the age of 14/15 and I became obsessed with Ed Sheeran and his music, this was the first time I’d ever really fallen into being a fan of the artist rather than just listening to music generally and that’s something that has stuck with me ever since. Music has become such a huge part of my life, I listen to it everyday and it can often help me when I’m feeling overwhelmed. But the first time I really developed an intense love for music and specifically the artist. I was then lucky enough to see Ed Sheeran live in 2018. I went with a close friend (much to the disappointment of my mam) and we managed to get to the barrier! It was insane and one of the best moments of my life!!


Since that moment all of my hyper fixations have been surrounding music, or musicals at least. One of the most recent was around the musical Hamilton, which despite not being my current fixation will always hold a special place in my heart as I was fortunate enough to see it in the West End with my dad. One final road trip in which I shared my favourite musical with my dad.


And that moves us onto my current fixation and this one my seem slightly odd. I have become a huge fan of the band One Direction. It’s a fixation that developed in lockdown, potentially a clinging to my younger days as I approached adulthood. But the music of the band and the individual boys has been such an amazing part of the last 6 months for me. I’ve not found things easy recently but I can always rely on their music for comfort and cheering up, whatever mood I’m in.


I hope that by sharing my hyper fixations, you have learnt more about me and see a little bit of how autism affects me.


My challenge for you all is to do something relating to autism this week, whether you do some reading, looks at social media or talk to someone with autism about how you can better support them.


See you next time,

E

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Can you prevent autism? The media seems to think so!

Hello humans, I know it’s been a while, since I last posted; basically year 13 is hard. Since going back I’ve barely had a minute to think never mind sit down and write something that isn’t A-level re

Being an ‘adult’ for a week!

Hello humans, Long time no see! Summer has been very busy so far and it’s just getting busier!! I’ve head to resort to creating a plan so that I know where I’m supposed to be at all times!! This week

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page