top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureebeckreck

Being an ‘adult’ for a week!

Hello humans,

Long time no see! Summer has been very busy so far and it’s just getting busier!! I’ve head to resort to creating a plan so that I know where I’m supposed to be at all times!! This week itself has been especially busy!

This week my mam and brother are going away Wednesday - Friday and I’ve realised that this has allowed for me to ‘practice’ adulting for a trial period, so I thought I would blog my experience!

Monday 2nd August

Pretty normal day, took the dog out at 7 then came home and got on with work. Completed a significant part of my English work and tidied kitchen/living room. Chatted with my granny who came to help tidy and reorganise cupboards. Went back to work and began to annotate books for coursework. Auntie came over as usual for tea and then put away my laundry. Went to bed relatively earlier about 10:30.

Tuesday 3rd August

Woke up about 8 am to get ready for day one of volunteering at summer scheme for my old school. Left the house around 9 believing the scheme opened at 10, waited for around an hour due to the scheme actually starting at 11 (thanks mam!!) so took myself to Costa and romanticised working!! Volunteered at summer scheme 11-3 then walked over to the hub where Gateshead youth assembly meet to continue summer programme and planning for next year. Got home around 6:30 and made dinner and had a shower, then sat and read/annotated my English texts. Fell asleep about 10:30 again.

Wednesday 4th August (Day 1 of trial)

Woke up around 8:30 and chatted to my mam whilst she packed for her trip. Left the house at 10 to head to the summer scheme. Spent the day volunteering at the scheme (involved a lot of just dance!) Then popped to Tesco to buy some shopping, mostly stuff to eat for dinner. Got the bus home where I was greeted by my sister, my cousin and her family (and of course Boston!) They took Boston out for a walk whilst I had a little rest. I made dinner and then tidied the kitchen up. I tidied my room, but then ended up having a little nap. I played with the dog, then watched love island and went to bed!

Thursday 5th August (Day 2 of trial)

Woke up at 7 for the dog and helped my sister take the dog for a walk. I read more of my book whilst she was out and cringed at a TikTok brandon sent me! Got dressed and began to organise my work for September. My granny came about 9:30 to tidy and keep iris company. I left the house at 10 to head to the final day of the summer scheme!! Left the summer scheme at around 3 then headed home.

Friday 6th August (Day 3 of trial)


Woke up at 5:45 to the dog licking my face - I was not impressed, but luckily he just curled up next to me and allowed me to sleep. I woke up at 7 and although the dog was still asleep and would happily have laid there for a few hours, I knew if I didn’t get up then, I never would. We were out of the house by 7:15 and were out for about half an hour. I got home and chilled, watched some tv and read my book. Then I got dressed, tidied up the kitchen and living room and had my therapy call at 11. I then did some research for my history essay and added more to my English coursework plan. I attempted doing some sociology but gave up pretty early on. My mam and eli got home at about 3 and that was the trial of adulting done!!

And there is is! My week of being an adult, I quite enjoyed parts of it but I’m definitely glad my mam is back!!


See you next time,

E x

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Can you prevent autism? The media seems to think so!

Hello humans, I know it’s been a while, since I last posted; basically year 13 is hard. Since going back I’ve barely had a minute to think never mind sit down and write something that isn’t A-level re

Today is a bad day!!

Hello humans, Today is a bad day. I had very little motivation yesterday which is why I didn’t write a blog post. But today has been slightly eventful and I needed to release my emotions. So let’s bre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page