top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureebeckreck

Getting It Done!

Hello Humans,

I said I'd update you on if I managed to be productive today. I wish I could say it's been easy, but I've really struggled to keep going. I started out well, woke up around 9, and decided I'd start work at 10. I worked solidly for the next two hours doing a History assignment, then I took a break to read A Handmaid's Tale for English. I started more History work around 1:30 and was on track to get everything done by 6 pm. But then, my History teacher set more work: making notes on an hour-long documentary, I won't lie I felt defeated, as those who know anything about making notes, is that it always takes at least double the length of the documentary, with all the pausing and rewatching. Instead of cracking on, I gave in, ordered a takeaway, and watched a film with my family. And that's ok, sometimes the best way of being productive is to take a break and start again later when you've had a chance to relax. I'm going to attempt to start the documentary and begin making notes this evening, but I hate working too late, as I cannot fully concentrate, I know for me, the best thing to do tonight is have a relaxing bath, read some of my book and play Among Us with friends.


Sometimes productivity is about knowing your limits and recognising that if I force myself to work till gone midnight, it will not be my best, and in fact, I will resent the class for having so much work. I know I worked hard today, ok I didn't get it all done, but I'd rather do little by little and find that my work is to a high standard than force it tonight.


There was a time, where choosing to relax over working would have been something I really struggled with, but I've learnt to prioritise my mental health and in doing so my standard of work has increased.


Did you manage to do whatever it was you were procrastinating? It is absolutely fine if you didn't. Tomorrow's another day! And remember you know your own limits.

See you next time,

E x

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Can you prevent autism? The media seems to think so!

Hello humans, I know it’s been a while, since I last posted; basically year 13 is hard. Since going back I’ve barely had a minute to think never mind sit down and write something that isn’t A-level re

Being an ‘adult’ for a week!

Hello humans, Long time no see! Summer has been very busy so far and it’s just getting busier!! I’ve head to resort to creating a plan so that I know where I’m supposed to be at all times!! This week

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page